RSS Feed

Check and check

Posted on

Given that the official last day of summer (yay!) is Friday, I thought I’d go through my summer to-do list and see what I managed to do in between naps and ice cream runs (both were plentiful, believe me).

Go to the beach at least twice (and avoid getting sunburned) : I made it to the beach a whopping three times! The first trip was to Pescadero, with a stop at the goat farm on the way; next was Half Moon Bay for GP’s birthday (fog means way smaller Labor Day crowds); the last was just this past weekend, the sunniest of the three, on the Russian River just outside Guerneville. Wouldn’t you know it, the only sunburn I ended up getting was on the dreariest of the three trips– lesson (re)learned, the sun is out to get me.

Funnel cake and/or garlic fries on the Boardwalk: No Boardwalk trips this summer! How did this happen? I ate plenty of unhealthy food this summer, but unfortunately very little of it was enjoyed at a seaside amusement park.

Maxi skirts and dresses (I don’t wear shorts, so these are basically as breezy as my summer attire gets): Success! Skirts and dresses of the maxi sort are basically my maternity jam (aside from the jeans, of course). Any ideas on how to make them last into the fall/winter?

Summer Pops concerts at SJSU (free music, yay!): Done! Went to a concert with my dad while GP was off one one of two bachelor-weekends (both of his best men have/had weddings this year, so he had plenty of binge drinking to do).

Picnic in the Rose Garden (such a short walk from home!): …nope. Blame the beach, I suppose. If we’re packing up lunch, we’re likely choosing a more remote destination.

Braids for-ev-er: Yup. I have a near-feral amount of hair right now, so braids are often the best way to keep it from killing me in my sleep.

San Jose Giants games (cheaper than a movie): Yep! We even went to the July 5th game to watch the fireworks, which will never ever get old. (Seriously, fireworks 4eva.)

Make jam, pickles, popsicles (we have some fruit ripening in our yard– has anyone ever pickled an apricot?): Sadly, no. All the fruit that was harvested from our yard this summer was eaten as-is, often plucked from the tree in the middle of a lengthy patio-lounging session.

Olympics! No lie, I love the Olympics.: Hello, yes. I am sad the Olympics only last a couple weeks, but on the other hand the less I have to hear Ryan Lochte speak, the better. (Honestly, he makes Michael Phelps look like fricking Neil de Grasse Tyson.)

Gone with the Wind (Hello, I still haven’t read this. I’m sorry.): I lost my reading mojo in the late spring and early summer, only to have it come roaring back around mid-August. I haven’t gotten to GWTW just yet, but it’s still (high) on the list.

Bike rides: My oh my, no. Can we talk about the kayaking I did when we were in Seattle, though? I am pretty proud of that. (And we saw a seal! Best day ever.)

Time to start making a fall list, I think. Boots, sweaters, and pumpkin spice are good starting points, right?

About Megan

I read, I write, I drink wine while watching way too much tv. Let's be friends.

One response »

  1. I am loving Gone with the Wind so far, but my book club books are horning in on it. I’ve only got through 25% of it, and the year is fast ending. Time to relegate those book club books to audio, I think. I have 10 hours of listening time per week, you know?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

