RSS Feed

The christening conundrum

Posted on

This weekend, we’ll be visiting GP’s family (and extended family, etc etc) in New York. Though we’ll only be there for about 48 hours, it’s going to be quite the whirlwind– we’re visiting for the christening of our first niece, who is just over 2 months old. Because we’re heathens, because I’ve never been to a single christening (besides mine, which clearly didn’t take), and because it’s going to be forty-two degrees in New York this weekend, I have not even a single idea what to wear. Luckily for all of us, I have options! And (sort of terrible) pictures! Which of these says, “Please don’t strike us with lightning, Armenian Jesus?” and also, “Why no, I’m not freezing half to death”…and, I suppose, “Happy springtime! Almost, right?”

Same dress in the leftmost outfits - turquoise Tulle dress with, alternately, a pink cardigan and a houndstooth swing jacket; red Reaction shirtdress (also looks ok with the houndstooth); navy blue empire waist with pink cardigan. I don't know what's going on with my face in any of these.

Strapless gray with eyelet detailing on the hem; black and white toile; dark gray with pleated v-neck; tights options include panty hose (which I don't actually own and are thus not pictured), dark gray tights, light gray tights, and cable-knit white tights. I am in love with my new, nude shoes, and will be hard to talk out of them...

So…thoughts? I know I’m going to have to coordinate a whole scarf-coat-accessory scheme, but I feel like once I have an actual outfit in mind, that’s really the easy part. I know the internets are full of opinions, so gimme yours. Por favor?

About Megan

I read, I write, I drink wine while watching way too much tv. Let's be friends.

4 responses »

  1. You don’t know me, but I love the print dress & cardigan combo. Of course, I live in Texas where it was 86 degrees yesterday and can not actually conceive of 42 degree weather, so that may not be a practical choice, just an aesthetic one. I also like the red Reaction shirtdress, but it looks like it might be one size too big? Maybe it’s just the pictures.

    The shoes are great – how lovely is it that you have an event to wear them to?! Good timing.

    Reply
  2. Hm. I think I vote the black-and-white toile dress with pink cardigan, pantyhose (which I guess you will have to buy, grr), and the new pumps. I think it’s respectful and springy and warm enough, all of which are important for this event. Please update us with what you decide!

    Reply
  3. The winner, you will be happy to know, was the black-and-white dress with the cardigan. Pictures will, of course, be posted at some point. 🙂

    Reply
  4. i liked the end result. 🙂 love the nude shoes!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

