RSS Feed

My friends are your friends, and your friends are my friends…

Posted on

Yes, today’s #reverb10 prompt reminds me of that “circle time” song. Want to fight about it?

Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

This year presented several opportunities to further enmesh my various groups of friends. I am generally a one-or-two-at-a-time friend, preferring to hang out in smallish groups or pairs (I’m worried that my rambling gets out of hand and sort of annoying in a big groupand this might be made up– but it is enough to subdue me and make me a little anxious), but I do love to entertain. I love to have people over, I love to have an excuse to hole up in the kitchen for an entire day, making appetizers and bite-size desserts, and I love to introduce friends from various parts of my life to each other. GP and I joke that our friends get along well because they have the same degree of trauma from being friends with a-holes like us, so they bond over that, but really I like to think that we have reached the point where we are each comfortable enough with ourselves and familiar enough with what we want and need in friendships to choose relatively consistent “types” of people as our friends. This is wonderful, because we’ve been able to create a little community (in a less creepy, non-planned sort of way) among our various work, school, and older (college, whatever) friends, and trust that there will be relatively little awkward pausing at our parties throughout the year. (We have a cocktail party in about a week and a half, so I have high hopes!)

Now, for the community that I want to create, or at least take a more active part in. For 2011, I am hoping to become a more consistent part of this online community that I am alternately part of and completely envious of. Over almost ten years of blogging, do you know how many bloggers I’ve met in real life? Zero. Yes, I do have friendships online, send regular emails, and have carried on old-fashioned snail mail correspondence with a few. More than building something from nothing, I am hoping to strengthen my existing online friendships (no pressure, I promise, online buddies) and establish some new ones. With BlogHer in San Diego and school finished up, there is a fairly good chance that I’ll make it down in 2011; the associated goal with that, though? Don’t be completely crippled and intimidated by the fact that the blogs of others are somehow more worthy-of-something than my own. (We’ll see how this goes.)

About Megan

I read, I write, I drink wine while watching way too much tv. Let's be friends.

2 responses »

  1. Very good question. Was thinking about this topic this week, as I felt blog guilt. I haven’t nurtured my personal blog community very well this year, and I wonder if it’s because things like facebook and twitter have taken over, and provided an easier, less-time consuming way, to connect with people. And yet, it’s also less satisfying. I’m not sure the right answer, or how to combine the best of both platforms to keep up and keep building the friendships.

    Reply
    • Maybe it’s that, while blogging can be a little more “in depth” (a thicker slice of life, as it were, than Twitter or Facebook typically provide), it also requires a little more consistency in terms of connecting and keeping up with people? This seems obvious to me, but in the sort of way that makes me think, “Well, if it’s so obvious, why am I not doing it?” I will definitely be prioritizing and making time for connecting with more blog-friends in the upcoming year.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

