RSS Feed

Making and doing

Posted on

Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?


I know it may seem as though I procrastinated on today’s #reverb10 post just so that I could have a more immediate answer, or one that is a little more impressive than “my first cup of coffee for the day” (though that in itself is a bit of a challenge some mornings), but it should come as no surprise that the last thing I made was food-related. The last thing I made was dinner: coconut chicken curry (a new recipe) and saffron rice (an old standby). Cooking dinner is something that I was able to get out of during the majority of last week, what with an overwhelming amount of Thanksgiving leftovers having taken over our refrigerator, but this week the turkey is in the freezer and I am back in front of the stove. I am happy that, at present, my life is such that I am able to come home at a reasonable hour, relax for a bit, and then spring into action with my knives, cutting board, and a set of ingredients, working through any accumulated stress from the day. Rather than being something that hovers over me like a dark cloud in the early evening, cooking dinner is a way for me to put some distance between myself and whatever anxieties I might have– I love it when the only thing I have to worry about is not burning myself or a meal. While ingredients may (and do, oh yes they do) vary, the patterns and habits that I have created in the kitchen make up a little cocoon into which I can retreat at the end of a workday.

One of the reasons I love to cook is because I am a little impatient. I want to see results, and I want to see them sooner (/immediately) rather than later. One thing that is not about to rush around in the kitchen, though, is bread. I would love (and am working) to become the sort of person who is content to put together a dough and sit patiently while it proofs…and then visits again to punch it down…and then again to shape and bake it… You get the idea, right? Making bread, really good bread, takes forever. And, while I am all right with doing things like pizza crust and cinnamon rolls, which are relatively fast, I am still working on the patience to make things like truly great baguettes and rustic boules. The recipes and ingredients are simple, sure– just a bit of flour, salt, yeast, and water– but that last one, time? I’m still working on the patience to deal with that one.

About Megan

I read, I write, I drink wine while watching way too much tv. Let's be friends.

Leave a Reply

