RSS Feed

On writing

Posted on

Despite the fact that I’ve been blogging for nearly a decade (yeah, it’s my birthday, let’s not do anything else to make me feel old today, all right?), and have written well and steadily for school for more than that, I’ve never considered myself “a writer.” Despite my mom’s constant insistence that I “write something,” that I’d probably “be so great” if I just “wrote something” (and despite my complete lack of formal training/education), I don’t know that my writing attempts will ever expand beyond the bounds of this blog. And you know what? I’m ok with that. In that spirit, here is the #reverb10 prompt for the day:

Writing. What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?

I think that it’s high time I started considering what I do here on the internets “writing.” It doesn’t follow a traditional write/edit/edit/edit/publish cycle, and it’s generally for no one but me (not that I don’t absolutely thrill at every single comment), but it is my contribution to the written world. I may not ultimately live a life that is “worthy” of an autobiography, but I love the fact that I have this record of what I was like at 18, at 23, and at…27. I suppose my short answer to this prompt is “no.” I think that, given the type of “writing” that I currently do, every part of my day is valuable and influential in the cycle of inspiration, recording, and memory. Sure, I may spend too much time scrolling through Jezebel and getting my blood all angried up, but I am not (right now, anyway) about to stop.


About Megan

I read, I write, I drink wine while watching way too much tv. Let's be friends.

2 responses »

  1. Short answer: No. No I can’t eliminate it. Furthermore, no I WON’T eliminate it. Bring on the blogs! And TV! And wine!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

