RSS Feed

Veux-tu m’épouser?

Posted on

I know, I know…I don’t even speak French. But come on, two years ago today, GP reached the final phase of his Secret Ninja Plan to propose to me. We had planned a trip to Paris with his parents, and, unbeknownst to me, he had planned to surprise me with a ring while we were there. For months, whenever I told anyone that I was going to Paris with my boyfriend, they would squeal, “Oooh, you’re going to get engaged!” Not wanting to set up ridiculous hopes that could, if not met, could taint an otherwise awesome trip, I was quick to deny this. I worked myself into such a state of denial that, when it happened, I was shocked. Seriously, a complete mess. I expected a few tears, but you guys…I bawled. Right there in the Bois du Boulogne. This is why I am so hideous in the pictures that GP’s parents snapped of us back in our rented apartment later that evening (not that that will stop me from sharing).


And so, on this day (that is a made-up-ass holiday if ever there was one, but shut up about it), I say thanks to GP. Thanks for dealing with All the Crazy, for allowing me to leave shocking amounts of shoes in the living room, for killing the spiders, for knowing so much about thermodynamics, for your boundless Friends knowledge, and for your sense of adventure. Thank you for asking me to share the rest of my life with you.

Question (LP Version) by Old 97’s. [A contender – but not the final choice – for our first dance.]

About Megan

I read, I write, I drink wine while watching way too much tv. Let's be friends.

One response »

  1. Aww, you guys are too cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

