RSS Feed

Dos mil

Posted on

In thinking about what I would write in this space for my 200th post, I thought a retrospective of sorts would be in order. As I’m not one for year-end reviews, and as a friend remarked that her “special occasion” posts tended toward the Oscar-speech end of the spectrum, I was determined not to veer too sharply into “You like me, you really like me!” territory. On the other hand…wow. Seriously. I know that I have lately been semi-regular at best about posting and commenting, and I know that I’ll never be one of the Really Cool Kids, amassing hordes of blog-friends, but I have to comment on how much I appreciate what blogging and bloggers (two words which, the more I type them, sound sort of gross) have brought to my life. There is a handful of people in my life, a little pocket of my world, that just wouldn’t exist without blogging– and I’m so glad it’s there! Not being a Big Deal means that I’ve never (knock on wood) had to deal with horrible anonymous commenters (Commentors? I can’t decide.) the way others have, and the chances of being incriminated at work for something awful I’ve written about a colleague are slim to none. However, I am happy to know that at least there are the dozens, maybe, of you that care to read and even take the time to comment. Thanks.

Spring break has come a bit early (at least work-wise– trust me, it’s not a very interesting story), and I’m feeling generous. As such, I’m proposing a multi-part giveaway, having to do with things that play a big part in my life: paper (I’m a sucker for pretty paper, and do like a good bit of correspondence!), travel (I take trips, even if a good third of them are Disneyrelated), and cooking (uh, yeah.) I’ll be giving away stuff from each category, so tell me what you’d like most! I’ll choose winners at random, and announce them in, say…a week? Yes, on March 29. That’s it.

And now, the booty. (Heh.)

Paper
A set of cards (pick your favorite) from Dots and Dahlias Etsy shop. Leave a comment telling me your proudest paper moment– did you manage to get Christmas cards out on time last year? Remember Grandma’s birthday? Carry on correspondence with a far-away love?

Cooking
An assortment of gadgets and goodies from Crate and Barrel and Sur la Table, two of my favorite fancy-supply stores. Tell me which gadgets you wish you had in your kitchen, from a Silpat to a citrus reamer, and they just might be yours.

Travel
Either a set of luggage tags or a passport holder (it says womens, but I think the red, green, and blue are plenty butch, for my male readers) from Flight 001. Describe your most memorable trip, and share your fantasy vacation– a trek through the rainforest? Meandering through the streets of Prague? Sipping champagne in Champagne?

About Megan

I read, I write, I drink wine while watching way too much tv. Let's be friends.

3 responses »

  1. As you know, I lack any kind of cute paper product. My proudest paper moment? Maybe the fact that when I interviewed for the last job I had I sent out SIX thank you notes to all my interviewers and even though I sent them out later that day, I still had an offer by the time the cards arrived. Oh man, I do love food too though. But I don't really cook so I don't even know what kind of cool gadgets are available. Let's stick with paper.

    Reply
  2. Happy 200th post! You see? It's hard to avoid giving the Oscar speech! (Free Tibet!)Oooh, I would love a passport holder for our vacation this summer! I think my most memorable trip is a tie between:1) Honeymoon cruise: my first-ever relaxing vacation, and post-wedding at that2) Week in Colorado: because it was freaking awesome eating Tex-Mex food, touring breweries, and seeing the Rockies every day.My fantasy vacation involves a money-is-no-limit-type trip around Europe so that I can OD on church architecture, art, and food. Why isn't that one of the prizes? Huh? Huh?

    Reply
  3. Paper: I'm a big fan of the monogrammed stars cards – http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=39420955 i too am a sucker for cute paper products!!cooking: oh sweet mother, i need a whisk. badly. and some new wooden spoons. travel: my most memorable trip was London in 2006. My first time traveling by myself, i went to london to visit a pal on spring break and it was just so much fun. we spent the weekend before i left in amsterdam and who knew it was possible to get kicked out of a bar in amsterdam 😉 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

