RSS Feed

The bits and the pieces

Posted on

I’ve been feeling so scattered recently– I don’t think it’s because I’ve been that busy, exactly, but when I stop to think about it, I guess I have been. So…you get bullets!

  • epic amounts of Gilmore Girls-watching. Because the syndication on ABC Family just came back around the horn, I had the strange experience of viewing the final episode and the pilot back-to-back. At this very moment, I’m watching the second episode, where we meet Paris (who I love to little teeny pieces) and also contains the truly awful Chad Michael Murray, calling Rory “Mary.” Could definitely do without him.
  • does anyone else have a truly evil cat (who is actually usually very sweet and completely lovable) that insists on chewing on the mini-blinds? No? Just me? Gah, this fricking cat.
  • spent last weekend in Tahoe, the highlight of which was making food for the six of us that went– including pizzas, soup, and amazing balls of fried eggplant filled with smoked mozzarella. As I am only a fan of snow that I don’t have to interact with (seriously, I am even underwhelmed by sledding), this worked out well.
  • next weekend will be full of wine-tasting. Love, love, love.
  • I gave up meat for Lent, and so far my only slip has been lox, which I ate by accident (but totally enjoyed, sorry baby Jesus). Giving up meat is way easier than giving up cheese was, but I have come to the conclusion that there is no way that this will end up being a weight-loss experience for me– I just keep filling the void with more and more cheese and carbs.
  • velcro rollers. Thoughts? Techniques? I am afraid.

Oh, by the way…the next post will be number 200! As I likely have only about a dozen readers, your chances of winning one of the things I’m thinking of giving away are pretty good.

About Megan

I read, I write, I drink wine while watching way too much tv. Let's be friends.

4 responses »

  1. I was catching up on blog reading ( it's been a while) and I want you to know you are not alone on the cat & blinds issue. Mine didn't eat them but rather would stick her head through closed ones, get stuck, and proceed to rip the blinds apart as she freed herself. This happened repeatedly… at night while I was trying to sleep. Luckily super glue works well to mask the damage when you move out. Living in a place with heavier blinds is magical as she can't bite or stick her head through them.

    Reply
  2. I LOVE Tristan on Gilmore Girls and always secretly hoped he'd come back in the final series and end up with Rory!

    Reply
  3. How does one accidentally eat lox? (I'm sure it's possible, but I am trying to imagine scenarios and cannot, for the life of me.)Also, I'm interested to see how the meatless 40 days go. I've never been that long without meat, but I know so many people who have done it and switched to veg afterwards!

    Reply
  4. Rachel – I'm glad to know I'm not alone! I'm seriously considering just sucking it up and buying heavier blinds (like the ones that were in our apartment, which were blessedly undisturbed). The Spray Bottle of Justice has no effect on our (apparently very determined) cat, at least in this area of the house.Jenny – I think I felt the same way about Jess! And it totally could have happened– remember how there was that whole Jess/Logan confrontation (perfect example of Logan being a jackass) in the 6th season? Sigh.EP – It was a work event– someone's birthday, which ended up being called "Brooklyn Day," complete with bagels, lox, and egg creams. I blame the fact that it was only two days into Lent, so I wasn't used to NOT eating meat, and was rendered temporarily amnesiac by the heavenly aroma of warm bagels and smoked salmon. I haven't eaten meat since, though…and while it hasn't been that hard, it doesn't feel that much healthier to me. Sure, maybe I'll eat LESS meat after this experiment, but honestly I felt a lot better last year when I gave up cheese. (Which, seriously, cheese? SO HARD TO GIVE UP.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

