RSS Feed

Whip It Up! Regional Favorites

Posted on

Being a native and likely lifelong Californian (though of course I am not ruling anything out…), I knew immediately that my “regional favorite” had to be something that contained avocado. This week, I decided to concoct what is essentially a no-cook recipe– a delicious chilled soup, perfect for the entire summer, of avocado and cucumber. Also included in the process? An opportunity to use my immersion blender, one of my favorite (so far) registry gifts.

Cucumber Avocado Soup
via Gourmet Magazine, July 2007

1 lb of cold, seedless cucumbers
1 large firm-ripe avocado
2 scallions, coarsely chopped
¼ cup fresh mint leaves [I used dried, and just let them hang out with the buttermilk for awhile before blending everything together– but I bet the fresh mint would be even better]
½ cup chilled buttermilk [which, at my local market, is only available by the quart. Bonus: buttermilk waffles on Sunday morning!]
coarse kosher salt

Cut cucumber into 3 equal pieces, then coarsely chop 2 pieces. Quarter avocado lengthwise, then pit, peel, and coarsely chop one half.

Blend together chopped cucumber, chopped avocado, scallions, minutest, buttermilk, water, and 1 teaspoon salt in a blender until smooth, 1 to 2 minutes. Chill soup, uncovered, 15 minutes.

Cut remaining cucumber and avocado into 1/4-inch pieces and stir into soup. Season with salt. Thin with additional water if desired.

Was the recipe easy to follow?
Sure was!

Did the dish taste good?
Yes. Not not mention the fact that it was hot as blazes outside, so a chilled soup was just the thing.

Would you make it again?
Absolutely. The leftovers didn’t stand a chance, so I foresee this soup becoming a regular in the rotation.

About Megan

I read, I write, I drink wine while watching way too much tv. Let's be friends.

Leave a Reply

