RSS Feed

(Post) Weekend Update

Posted on

While I can’t claim to have been overwhelmingly busy last weekend, I still managed to be occupied enough not to blog. This, then, is what you are left with: bullets! What I managed to do in two days, aside from blog avoidance…

– entertain! Technically this was Friday, but I am including it because I am amazed that I was able to stay up past 10pm. I have been falling into the “in bed by 9:30” routine, which, while not bad in itself, sort of hampers one’s social life. Oh, and I made a very popular (what? There were three other people eating it!) avocado mango shrimp salad (even though I ended up using papaya instead– result of a very boring grocery-store tale). No heat required, and very refreshing. You have to try it!

– finish two library books! I am terrible, generally, at getting through books that I check out before they are (over)due, which is pretty shameful considering I am going to library school in the fall. This time, however, was different! I managed to finish Heat and One Perfect Day, both of which I highly recommend, especially the former, as I am food and cooking-obsessed these days.

– do a Major Apartment Clean-Up! We are not categorically messy people, GP and I, but we tend to have a bit of clutter in key places, including leaving drinking glasses (him) and shoes (me) in our wake as we go about our apartment business. I managed, through the weekend, to tackle the kitchen floor (thanks, Method O-Mop!), vacuuming with out teeny-tiny vacuum cleaner, dual bathroom cleanup, and balcony organization. Since the balcony (re) construction, there has been a ton of debris and whatnot due to further roof construction. It is a regular three-ring circus of construction crap and noise in our complex! If only we could…you know, enjoy it being done.

– get through two loads of laundry! Well…one and a half? We have big dryers, and each load is $1 wash and $1 dry. We are not Rockefeller, you know.

– spend less than $100 at Target! This is a big deal, folks. I finished birthday shopping for my mom, snagged some Jergens Natural Glow for me, and grabbed a full-length mirror so I have nothing holding me back from participating in Mission: Put Together but my own morning indecision and subsequent donning of jeans and a sweater. (Why yes, it is upwards of 80 degrees outside. I am completely insane.)

– was able to watch live television again! So, remember that week where the DirecTV tripod lived in our living room? Yeah, that week ended, and we were able to have it re-erected…only to have the dish knocked out of alignment by a wayward roofer. They said that they “might” be able to pay for the realignment, and I think I “might” kill them if we end up having to pay for something that we did not do (!!!!!). Anyway, the DirecTV contractor showed up a good 90 minutes after the 4-hour window during which he was supposed to arrive had elapsed, but at least he fixed our tv. To celebrate, I went home for lunch today and watched Access Hollywood and felt some of my brain disintegrating.

– hopped back on the Lost bandwagon! GP and I watched “The Shape of Things to Come” last night, and I am conscientiously avoiding spoilers so that he doesn’t kill me during any of the ensuing four episodes we have to watch so that we’re caught up. While we are obsessed with television, we manage to be obsessed on our own terms.

How was your weekend, internets?

About Megan

I read, I write, I drink wine while watching way too much tv. Let's be friends.

Leave a Reply

