RSS Feed

New slang

Posted on

As promised, here is the short tale of how I learned that my mother was aware of the meaning of “hollaback girl”– honestly, I have to admit that I wasn’t entirely sure what it meant until she told me.

Mom: Hey, you know that Gewn Stefani song, “Hollaback Girl,” with the bananas?
Me: Oh, yeah! You know I like songs with spelling in them.
Mom: I guessed you would like it. Anyway, I used to think that she was saying “holla-fat” girl, and I had no idea what that meant. But then one of my teachers [my mom is an elementary school administrator] told me. Do you know what a “hollaback girl” is?
Me: Can’t say that I do, lady. [This was mostly true. I had a vague idea, but couldn’t wait to see what she would say.]
Mom: It’s like, when there’s a guy who gives a girl a booty call [Dude, my mom just said “booty call,” and I am dying inside.], and she, you know…”holla”s back. You know, calls him or gives him the booty call or whatever.
Me: [dies]

…and, scene.

Up next, some multi-mom wine-tasting! Oh, and I will tell the tale of a humiliating Mother’s Day event that happened at my high school workplace (that is, where I worked in high school, not that my current workplace is…oh, forget it).

Have a great weekend, lovelies!

About Megan

I read, I write, I drink wine while watching way too much tv. Let's be friends.

Leave a Reply

