RSS Feed

Sorry, it’s Tuesday

Posted on

…so all you get are some lists, and that’s really only courtesy of Dan and Stylish Handwriting. Without further ado, I give you…

My Top 10 Memory(-Provoking) Songs
– WARNING: My actual musical tastes are better than this list might suggest, but the songs are still evocative. So shut up about it, already.
10. “Te Aviso, Te Anuncio,” Shakira. I bet you didn’t know that I was pretty fluent in Spanish. (Wait, did I include that in the 100 Things? Oh well…) Well, turns out I am, and this is the song that I would sing to myself in a small Spanish voice after I sneaked out of my parents’ house and drove to my older “boyfriend’s” house during my senior year of high school. It was a time of poorly-thought decisions, but I still really enjoy the song, mostly because it lets me be bilingual and sing really loudly in the car.
9. “El Tango de Roxanne,” Ewan McGregor. Again, Spanish, although it’s sung in English, by a Scotsman. It was on an unfortunate mix-CD that I made in high school for the future Young Republican, even more unfortunately titled “The We-Mix.” Sorry, everyone.
8. “Answering Machine,” Matt Nathanson. I’m not sorry that this one will always be in my Top 10 List– it was my first Big College Music Discovery, and he’s still one of my favorites. That, and you’re guaranteed at least one Journey cover at each of his concerts!
7. “Let’s Get Loud,” Jennifer Lopez. Hear me out. It’s not so much about the song as it is the circumstances– junior year of college, and my friends and I were dead tired and a little punchy from days and days of “conversation workshops,” because some sorority girls don’t know how not to ask inappropriate questions. The group Fate’s Baby (yeah, genius name, I know) was born (sorry!), and its debut dance was choreographed to this tune, complete with moves such as The Sprinkler, The Indian, and The Fish Out of Water.
6. “Hey Driver,” Lucky Boy’s Confusion. Road trips. Singalongs. Enough said.
5. “You Shook Me All Night Long,” AC/DC. Look, I was in a sorority in college. And we all know that gin and tonics + fraternity boyfriend + AC/DC = embarrassing photographs. Good thing the evidence has been destroyed, or otherwise lost track of. (Sorry about the dangling participle!)
4. “Second That Emotion,” Smokey Robinson. I was at the birthday party of someone I didn’t know, with a boy with whom I was completely infatuated. The song came on, and I knew enough to hum along… Love the song, not so much the boy.
3. “Lover, You Should Have Come Over,” Jeff Buckley. Only when I was twenty-one would I have been content to share a twin bed and a single set of iPod headphones with someone night after night. Now, I insist on my own headphones and half of no less than a double bed (though we have a queen, and getting a king in a hotel is paradise).
2. “Chocolate,” Snow Patrol. The first song that I thought of as “mine and GP’s.” I’m not sure what the current one is, and I can’t see us dancing to Snow Patrol at our wedding, but at the time, it was a song that reminded me of him every time I heard it.
1. “Can’t Help Falling in Love With You,” Elvis. In the early days of Me and GP, I “cleverly” alluded to this song in a blog post title. Because I am so crafty, and it worked! I managed to worm my way into his heart. Also, I am really cheesy.

Because I love to make lists, you get this one, too…

Top Five Movies (we’ll just say that this is “of all time,” not necessarily evocative of anything even though there are distinct memories attached to each), not listed in order of my affections…
5. “Drop Dead Gorgeous,” at times awesomely bad, and consistently laugh-like-a-crazy-person funny. If you haven’t, you should check it out– even the usually-annoying Kirsten Dunst manages to make it work.
4. “Love, Actually,” which I saw in the theater, twice. I cried, within the first five minutes, each time and nearly every time thereafter. Despite wanting to slap Keira Knightley every time I see her, I adore this movie. Also, I am unabashedly a “girl” about this movie, as I am about very few others.
3. “National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation,” which is a Serious Christmas Tradition in my family. The day after Thanksgiving is the typical first viewing, and we usually watch it at least three times between then and Christmas. It’s a large part of the basis for the secret twin language that my brother and I speak.
2. “High Fidelity,” which I think is one of the best “based on the novel” films that I’ve seen. True to Nick Hornby’s hilarious book, and contains several lists, which appeals to my list-loving (self-evident, no?) personality. One cannot go wrong with John Cusack, and this made was before Jack Black became a caricature of Every Role Jack Black Has Ever Played.
1. tie – “Spellbound” and “Wordplay,” because I am nerdy enough to love documentaries and completely willing to “own” it. Because I love words as well as competition and puzzles, these two are bound to be on any Top Random Number List of Movies I Love.

Honorable Mentions: The Queen, Good Night and Good Luck, Waiting for Guffman, Before Sunrise, Shakespeare in Love, Muriel’s Wedding, Hedwig and the Angry Inch.

What movies and songs do you love? Are there songs or books that are evocative of certain moments in your life? Can you even wait until I make my Favorite Books list?

About Megan

I read, I write, I drink wine while watching way too much tv. Let's be friends.

Leave a Reply

