RSS Feed

The ‘Bucks

Posted on

When I was in college, I worked at Starbucks. For about three years, I worked many opening and closing shifts, either getting up at 4:30am to work at 5:00am (until 10:00 am, right before an 11:00 class. Guess how many of those classes I skipped. Add 4 or 5 and you’re getting closer…), or working until 1:00am, which was like working at a bar, but without the tips, because college kids are cheap and poor. This might make you think that I disliked working at Starbucks, but really, it had its ups and downs, but I worked there for so long for a reason (I haven’t stayed at any other job for as long since I left!), and the main reasons were that I worked with some pretty great people, and there were some customers that were genuinely nice to me, even at 6:30 in the morning.

Why all the storytelling, Megan? Well, internets, I had a pretty great Starbucks experience yesterday (not reported at the time because I had no internet at home, which is an entirely different, much angrier entry). Nothing major, but you may have heard or seen their new promotion, “Skinny” Lattes, basically lattes with sugar-free syrup and nonfat milk (which, thankyouverymuch, I have been enjoying for years– my favorite is the Cinnamon Dolce Latte). The only hitch is the new Skinny Mocha, which, rather than being made with the thick, fatty, chocolate-y goodness that is actual mocha syrup, is made with a sugar-free syrup, just like the others. I was wary, and had heard very mixed reviews. I brought it up with my friendly neighborhood barista after ordering the usual, and she made me a sample. The verdict: a little chemical-y, and if you really want some chocolate, go ahead and get a tall (or short!) mocha, because sometimes only the real thing is going to do.

Ok friends, off to enjoy the bounty of blagotubes that has been restored to The Apartment! Also, probably some covetous Valentine’s Day browsing at Red Envelope

About Megan

I read, I write, I drink wine while watching way too much tv. Let's be friends.

Leave a Reply

