RSS Feed

Christmas in July

Posted on

There comes a point every single summer at which I just cannot bear anymore, well…summer. Even as a kid and as a student, I was able to get all my “Woo! Summer! FREEDOM!” wiggles out within June and early July; when the second half of the season is in full swing, I’m thinking only of school supplies and crisp evenings. Am I a total weirdo for not loving summer? I like popsicles and swimming pools as much as the next lady, but enough already.

Our summer began with a few long weekends we’d planned immediately after returning from HK and Thailand, knowing we’d need something to look forward to after the end of a pretty fantastic break from regular life: a “camping cabin” in Lassen, a weekend in a rented lake house with friends, a pre-July/mid-heatwave visit to Yosemite (where there was no AC, so cold showers were among the top five highlights). Though we’ve recently found our weekends a little less booked– we’ve managed to plow through both House of Cards and Orange is the New Black– there are plenty of in-town activities with friends occupying our Saturday nights. As these activities tend more and more toward sedate evenings in, rather than packed cars and multi-hour drives, I’m getting more and more ready to be in the midst of college football season, sweater weather, and sub-80-degree temperatures.

Oh, and another reason to look forward to the final months of this year? We get to meet her in December.

(Yes, I’m showing. Yes, sometimes she sort of looks like Skeletor. Adventures!)

About Megan

I read, I write, I drink wine while watching way too much tv. Let's be friends.

8 responses »

  1. YAHOOOO! I’m so glad this is public knowledge now!!!

    Reply
  2. YAY!!!!!!!!! Positively bursting with happiness for you!

    Reply
  3. Congrats!!! So exciting!! =)

    Reply
  4. OMG OMG OMG!! So excited for y’all!!

    Reply
  5. Also, I’m totally with you on summer. I like it for about two weeks, and then I’m done. I need to live somewhere that is not the South.

    Reply
  6. Same here,normally I love summer but I’m wanting fall (my favorite season) I don’t care for what comes after fall but at least I have a baby to look forward to this winter so it won’t be so bad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

