RSS Feed

Try

Posted on

WARNING: Uterus talk ahead. Also, feelings.

tests

So. We’re “trying” again. After having been told by the doctor who did the D&E that we’d have to wait six months, which was confirmed by my regular lady doc (as I called her from the gate of our departing flight to Hong Kong, desperate to hear her say, “Go for it! Procreate!”), the six months are nearly up. In these six months, I’ve felt, well…all the feelings. But, finally, we’re ready to carry on. So we are, in much the same way we approached attempts to parenthood in the past: with a plan, a thermometer, and a metric ton of ovulation and pregnancy tests. I’ve read the books, listened to the podcasts, and lurk constantly on discussion boards that sometimes look more like MySpace than medicine. For someone who rarely studied in an intense way (English majors don’t really do that, see), I have been examining all the materials available for way longer than necessary. And yet! There is a time in each month of trying in which all you can do is wait. Sit there and wait, with pregnancy tests in one hand and tampons in the other, waiting to see if anything has happened. (While seething over discussion board posts that read, “well we decided like last minute that we were trying to get pregnant lol.” WHAT EVEN.)

I promise it isn’t going to be all ladyparts talk, all the time around here until…what, until a person comes out of me? No, I’m still also a reasonably normal person. Just…one who adds maternity jeans to her online orders before she’s knocked up. That kind of reasonably normal person.

About Megan

I read, I write, I drink wine while watching way too much tv. Let's be friends.

5 responses »

  1. Oh, man, you are so right about English majors never really having to study. Switching from chemistry to English was a real culture shock for me.

    I am thinking happy thoughts for you guys!

    Reply
  2. We are about to enter that phase too, and ugh, how I dread it (the not-knowing, that is). I’ll soon be freaking out about temps and tampons and tests right along with you. Also, don’t you get sick of feelings sometimes? I’m seeing a new psychologist and I’m just like OK SERIOUSLY. Enough with the feelings! I’m so tired of feeling feelings! Blarg!

    At any rate, I am thinking of you and sending good pregnancy vibes your way :) xo.

    Reply
    • Ahh, the feelings! They are the WORST. I mean, you have all this neat, measurable stuff going on (temps, tests)…and then you have to contend with these immeasurable and nebulous feelings? NO, THANK YOU. (But it’s worth it, isn’t it? From what I hear…yeah, it totally is.)

      Reply
  3. Good luck, lady! I wish I had advice or words of wisdom, but just know that I’m rooting for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

